Dealing with an anxiety disorder πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ

Bit of a different post from me today but it’s something that seriously needs discussion. Anxiety issues. There’s lots of types of anxiety disorders and many of us will at some point experience anxiety at some point in our lives but it will go away. For some of us it’s mental torture and doesn’t leave even when we try to unlock the door and kick it out. Between anxiety and depression they are the two biggest mental health issues worldwide. 

I had always been a worrier and stress head but from the age of 18 up until recently I have had two unpleasant experiences that have effected my mental health. The first being a terrible relationship of three years. The second was watching a life leave this world. Oh and spending a week in hospital last summer on a drip and not being able to move due to having the measles. I wasn’t allowed out of the room and anyone who came in had to wear gloves and masks I felt like I was going to die. It’s been a cocktail of physical and emotional pain.

Most nights I have nightmares of the experiences but I have terrible irritability with getting to sleep I am awake most of the night. Some nights I want to sleep so badly, some nights I can’t where I am too scared of what I’m going to see. Without fail I will cry each day and sometimes it feels like I’m losing mind. Two weeks ago I experienced a panick attack and it was so frightening because I didn’t understand what exactly was happening to me until after I’d calmed down. I’m very irritable through out the day. I take Kalms to try and aid mild anxiety, sometimes they work which is good. Sometimes they have no effect. 

As you can imagine the mixture of crying, sleepless nights, scary nightmares, irritable mood swings and trapped feeling of loneliness, it’s quite tough to carry on with my day without people noticing there is an issue. The anxiety disorder I’m currently experiencing is some form of post traumatic stress. 

I’ve chosen self help. I went to the doctor and all they did was give me leaflets to self refer myself to a therapist. They didn’t give me any support what so ever. If anything google helped me more which kind of upset me because it made me feel like mental illness isn’t taken as seriously as other illnesses. I just don’t have a good doctors service and I will be changing clinics after two visits I’ve just been given leaflets for “self referrals” for two different situations.

There are so many ways to help anxiety so please don’t stress! Before considering therapy or anti depressants please try something else first so you can at least tell doctors and therapists you’ve tried something before approaching them. And if my tips help you so you don’t have to even go into medical help that’s even better! Here are some ways that can really help you;

  • Adult colouring books – you find these in art and crafts shops, even places like Tesco and with your headphones in listening to relaxing music (I.e. Ed Sheeran maybe?) these really relax your mind and you start to concentrate on the picture, thus taking your mind off your worries. Puzzles work this way too. 
  • Reading – I’ve just brought a new book to start as I find reading helps take the mind into the book and away from reality.
  • Working out – working out is great. I work out every day now even if it’s just half an hour. It makes me feel really good about myself and if you set yourself goals it’s great focusing on making your body better. I feel like it releases a happy hormone!
  • Spend time with loved ones – sometimes it’s hard to tell those closest what your going through but it really is the best thing to talk. It’s taken me months to tell my mum. I still can’t tell my dad. My boyfriend has known all along. My boyfriend is very supportive and helps me a lot. 
  • Go out – don’t do what I do and trap yourself at home. Go out! Even if it’s just for a walk, take those baby steps and go outside. Go out with friends. Don’t trap yourself it makes you 10x worse.
  • Kalms – trial and error kind of thing. Some people they are amazing for some people not. They sometimes work for me it’s hit and miss. 
  • Eat healthier – try eating healthier it helped me a lot because I was looking after my body and it started to look after me.
  • When I can feel myself about to panick, I try to walk outside or into another room and focus solely on my breathing. I take deep breathes and focus on it until I start to feel my panicking levels dropping. I close my eyes while I do this and this really seems to help me shut out the world. 
  • Do things that make you feel good – for me it’s taking a sunbed, seeing friends or spending time with my boyfriend. I only see him once a week so I always look forward to seeing him which kind of helps my anxiety as I’ve always got something to look forward to. I love him very very much.

All these tips are things I’ve found useful and I hope even if there is only one tip it helps! Don’t keep all your thoughts trapped inside, if you need anyone to speak with you can always speak to me. I will always help anyone who is suffering, you can reach me by email at thatcheyannesmith@gmail.com or even DM via twitter @thatcheyannes and I will never ignore. I hope this post has somehow helped someone out there today. Thank you for your time everyone!

3 comments

  1. CiaraTone · April 14

    Well done for sharing,this was a really brave post X Would love to support each others blogs http://ciaratone.com/

    Like

    • thatcheyannesmith · April 14

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment and for following! I will follow you back right away 😘✨

      Liked by 1 person

      • CiaraTone · April 14

        Thats okay and thank you so much XxX

        Like

Leave a Reply

